Theme for 2018: The War to End All Wars

Paul Engler Photo


We reflect on the coming 100th anniversary of Armistice Day, marking the end of WWI and established by Congress as a holiday “dedicated to the cause of world peace” to be “commemorated with thanksgiving and prayer and exercises designed to perpetuate peace through good will and mutual understanding between nations.” We have longed for real peace since the end of the “War to End All Wars,” and in a world still riven by warfare and armed with nuclear weapons, the cause of peace is more urgent than ever.

Join us as we learn about nonviolence as a powerful tool for building a more just and peaceful world and a compelling alternative to armed force from this year’s keynote speaker Paul Engler, native Iowan and co-author of the book This is an Uprising: How Nonviolent Revolt is Shaping the 21st Century.

 

Loras College, Alumni Campus Center

Friday, September 21, 2018, 7:00 PM - FREE

Events Calendar

Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Friday, September 21, 2018
Saturday, September 22, 2018
Sunday, September 23, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
  • Historic Poster Exhibit commemorating the 70th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights
    Starts: 8:00 am at lobby area near the Loras College Alumni Ballroom
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
  • Historic Poster Exhibit commemorating the 70th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights
    Starts: 8:00 am at lobby area near the Loras College Alumni Ballroom
Thursday, September 27, 2018
  • Historic Poster Exhibit commemorating the 70th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights
    Starts: 8:00 am at lobby area near the Loras College Alumni Ballroom
Friday, September 28, 2018
Sunday, September 30, 2018

What is Dubuque's UN International Day of Peace Festival?

A group of Dubuque-area residents invites all to create a culture of peace by participating in a city-wide celebration of the U.N. International Day of Peace on Friday, September 21. Since its 1981 inception, the Peace Day has marked humanity’s personal and planetary progress toward peace. The celebration has grown to include millions of people in all parts of the world through events ranging in scale from private gatherings to public events with wide attendance.